973.228.5700

Employment Law Update – January 2019: New Jersey’s New Minimum Wage Law

BACK TO INSIGHTS     Alerts

New Jersey Adopts $15/Hour Minimum Wage To Be Phased in Through 2024 

On Monday, February 4, 2019, New Jersey enacted a new law that will raise the minimum wage over five years, culminating in a $15/hour minimum wage on January 1, 2024. The phase-in schedule is as follows: $10/hour as of July 1, 2019; $11/hour as of January 1, 2020; $12/hour as of January 1, 2021; $13/hour as of January 1, 2022; $14/hour as of January 1, 2023; and $15/hour as of January 1, 2024. The phase-in runs through January 1, 2026 for seasonal employees and employers with five or less employees. Agricultural workers will see their minimum wage rise to $12.50/hour as of January 1, 2024, with the potential for a raise to $15/hour by January 1, 2027.

If you have any questions regarding the new law, please contact:

Matthew Collins, Esq.
mcollins@bracheichler.com
973.403.3151

Anthony Rainone, Esq.
arainone@bracheichler.com
973.364.8372

Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn